Gallery Hopping

It’s rare to experience a Saturday with such abundance of culture. Last week, Sheloa and I set out to see the Nina Leen exhibit in Chelsea and discovered a nine-floor building with endless galleries. Behind every door we discovered a new artist and behind one door in particular we found in artist in the flesh. Scotto Mycklebust invited us and we watched him paint. I don’t “get” contemporary paintings and when asked what I thought, I put on an awkward smile and imagined my nine-year old cousin producing the same thing. Give my Goya any day but put me in front of something experimental and my mind goes numb.

But of course, iPhone in hand, I couldn’t resist taking pictures of those around me…Sheloa. Thank goodness my friends get this about me now – that I’d rather take photos of people over objects. And so, with the epic natural light streaming into the galleries, I snapped a few photos as we wandered around the artistic spaces.


Gallery_-01

Gallery_-03

Gallery_-02

Gallery_-04

Gallery_-05

Gallery_-06

Gallery_-07

Leave a Reply

