NYFW15

When it comes fashion I’m a total noob. My sister is the one who can throw together a flawless outfit as if she were just scrambling an egg. Part of my struggle I suspect (or rather know for that matter!) is my 10+ years in uniformed Catholic school. While I loved the ease of which I never had to think about what I’d wear to school, when it came to college, I was hopeless. Walking the hills and valleys of my midwest university, most days I was sporting faded bootlegged Gap jeans, an ill-fitting unisex graphic T, and my favorite, worn – in pair of Adidas Sambas (now retired).

Now, however, I think I’m beginning to see the light. When I first moved to New York, I felt like every morning I was walking through one of my mother’s fashion magazines. I was impressed on how put-together New Yorkers appeared and their attention to detail was stunning. Soon I began to develop tastes of what I liked and disliked but it’s only now that I’m slowly being able to execute these visions in my head.

Curious, I struck out to Lincoln Center, DSLR and notepad in hand, wondering what fashion meant to all those involved. Despite the frigid temperatures and snow, I photographed designers, bloggers, photographers, observers, those who I thought were “pulling it off.” And however different they all appeared, their answer to my question remained constant. I asked, “What does fashion mean to you?” They replied, “Self expression.”

NimaFord

HalfMug

AsianDuo

WhiteMIddle

Tres

TooCool

ReadySetGo

BlackHat

COLORS

Turban

GIRLS

Inter2

Inter

UNICEF

dificil

Self expression is an obvious answer, is it not? How else to show our pride and true colors than through the vary extensions of ourselves: the clothes that we wear.

But I’d like to take it a step further because I know many of us open our closets every morning and ask, “Who do I want to be today?” And in that answer, I believe, fashion is also used as a mask, a shield, a ruse to disguise the whole truth and I think for me, right now, that’s what fashion is. For me, fashion is like Halloween, me deciding on a outfit I see and me trying to execute it, bringing pieces together, and thinking it my costume. On nights I go to the ballet, I pretend I’m Juliana Marguiles in my black Madewell dress, and when I go on interviews, I ask myself, “What would Miranda Priestly recommend?”

But the most important thing I’ve discovered in regards to fashion is this: it doesn’t matter what your’e wearing it’s how you’re wearing it. Confidence makes all the difference.

On another note, I was honestly surprised how nice everyone was! It probably had something to do with me actually not knowing who any of these people were!

Shout out to: Ni’ma, Mauricio, Markell, Joy, The Half Mug, My Sunday Dress, and all the others who were so pleasant and patient with my question asking and attempts at fashion photography!

2 thoughts on “NYFW15

  1. It’s also interesting to see how Koreans, Chinese, and Japanese, also an ultra-stylish people, consider the throwaway nature of fashion. For them it’s not just about self-expression, I think, but novelty.

Leave a Reply

