Jaded Oscar Predictions 2015

This is the first year that I “don’t care,” about the Oscars. Not only has the magic waned and perhaps I have become jaded like the rest of my industry colleagues, but the subjectivity of it all has me a bit down in the award season dumps.

However, not all is lost.

Based off of what I’ve seen and what we’ve seen so far at The Golden Globes and BAFTA nominations coupled with other guild nominations and awards, I’m still going to take a stab at guessing the top 10 films to possibly snag a Best Picture nomination.

In no particular order:

  1. Boyhood
  2. Birdman
  3. Grand Budapest Hotel
  4. Imitation Game
  5. American Sniper
  6. Whiplash
  7. Foxcatcher
  8. Theory of Everything
  9. Selma
  10. !?!?!!?

I honestly can’t think of a 10th contender but on the short list I’d include surprisingly Guardians of the Galaxy, Into the Woods, Gone Girl and even Nightcrawler.

This year is anyone’s year I say. I’m just really hoping Selma gets some love.

Nominations are announced 830AM ET on January 15.

Leave a Reply

