Summer Reading List 2014

Now that I’ve pinpointed the summer movies I hope to see in the cool, air-conditioned theaters this summer, diving into new literature will be my next, great summer adventure!

After I finish rereading one of my faves, Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier, I hope to relish in these five stories:

Everything I Never Told you by Celeste Ng – Any story that takes on race, what it means to belong and a mysterious murder is instantly put on my must-read list!

18693763

The Book of Unknown Americans by Cristina Henríquez – After reading numerous reviews of this must anticipated novel, I can’t wait to dive into these first generation and Hispanic narratives that explore what it means to be “American.”

18465852

Life in Motion: An Unlikely Ballerina by Misty Copeland – I’ve met her twice, seen her perform three times, and now I must complete my Misty experience by reading her memoir.

18143768

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by JK Rowling – Part of my New Year’s Resolutions was that I would reread the entire Harry Potter series. Book #3 is next on that docket.

5

The Silkworm by Robert Galbraith – I’m not one to pick up a detective novel, but after finding out one of my favorite authors (JKR) was Mr. Galbraith in disguise, I immediately picked up a copy of The Cuckoo’s Calling. What a page turner it was! Now the second in the Cormoran Strike series debuts this month with The Silkworm. Can’t wait!

18214414

Happy reading!

One thought on “Summer Reading List 2014

Leave a Reply

