On the move!

If there’s one thing I’ve come to know about living in New York City it’s that finding a place to live is absolutely the worst.

Gone are my luxury, midwest days of pulling up to a leasing office or well manicured apartment complex and inquiring about available units. No, in this town, if you’re not on an “old money” or tech startup income, you most likely must resort to the likes of Craigslist and other semi-reliable sites like Street Easy and PadMapper. However, if you’re willing to shell out the 10 to 15% of the annual rent to a broker, they greatly ease the apartment looking situation. But this time around, I’m on my own.

That being said, I’m straddling two possible living situations. A. living with S and looking for a 2BR within our budget or B. finding a room to rent within an existing flatmate’s apartment. Both are proving rather difficult and exhausting. On the latter front, when interviewing with potential new flatmates, I feel like I’m on display, applying for a job and competing in a beauty pageant! I want to be all Meredith Grey on them and exclaim,”Pick me! Choose me! Love me!” but I hope (fingers crossed) I haven’t gone that far yet.

I have five weeks to find a new place to live and I’m up for the challenge. In the mean time, enjoy the awesomeness of this 100 sqft apartment on the UWS that I missed out on!

PS: If you do need a broker, might I suggest the amazing and wonderful Ana W.

Leave a Reply

