Oscars 2014 Hopes

thumb-11

This time, last year, I was packing my bags to head to the Oscars Red Carpet Event – an event I won tickets to on Good Morning America.

This year, I won’t be in LA nor will I be hosting my usual Oscar party. Instead, I’ve bought a $10 ticket to Side Bar in Union Square and will be watching the award show unfold amongst the likes of likeminded Oscar fans.

Given my recent OD of films, my “predictions” below don’t really reflect who I think will win, but rather, who I want to win. So without further ado, these are the winners I hope to see gracing the hallowed Kodak Theater* stage this Sunday.

Best Actress: Cate Blanchett

Never before have I seen her in such form as I did in Blue Jasmine. While Meryl Streep truly ruled the screen in August: Osage County, Cate Blanchett stepped outside her usual composed shell and let loose.

Best Actor: Matthew McConaughey

Just like Blanchett, I’ve never seen McConaughey outside his usual, slick element. In DBC, his performance was the most real and raw I’ve ever seen him perform. However, I will say DiCaprio’s performance in WOW was something to applaud, but having to choose between the two, I’ll tip my hat to Matt.

Best Supporting Actress: Lupita Nyong’o

She simply stole the Show in TYAS. Don’t get me wrong, Jennifer Lawrence was electric in AH, but Lupita blew her out of the waters with this role.

Best Supporting Actor: Jared Leto.

Do I really need to defend this? Michael Fassbender came in as a very far second in my book.

Best Original Screenplay: Nebraska

Best Adapted Screenplay: Philomena

Best Director: (tie) Gravity or 12 Years a Slave

Both Cuarón and McQueen delivered powerful performances and visuals in their epic tales of survival. Now it’s just waiting a game to see who will take home the Oscar.

Best Cinematography: (tie) Gravity or Prisoners

If the sound gave out on either of these films, I still wouldn’t be able to look away. Both were beautiful to watch.

Sound (all categories): Gravity

Imagine yourself sitting in the comfy, red and velvet seats at your local film house, and close your eyes…now which film would you like to listen to and still get the full story? For me, that’s Gravity.

Best Editing: Gravity

Apparently, I want Gravity to sweep the Oscars this year, but given the other noms in this category, I imagine Cuarón and Sanger had their hands full on this one.

Best Live Action Short: Avant Que De Tout Perdre (France)

Thankfully, I was able to see all the films in this category thanks to the IFC. And the French submission this year was without a doubt the most gripping and emotional of them all.

Best Picture: (tie) Gravity or 12 Years a Slave

Both films, holistically, is how I would define “movie magic.” Both directors and their amazing teams pulled us into worlds and emotionally connected the audience to their leading gent and lady so subtly, that by the end, the audience wasn’t aware of their emotional involvement until the tears cascaded down their cheeks or they let out the breath they didn’t know they were even holding. If any other film wins in this category, I’ll have to throw down a cocktail ;D

*The famed Kodak Theater was renamed to The Dolby Theater after Kodak filed for bankruptcy. However I find, “The Dolby Theater” less romantic sounding than Kodak, so for me, Kodak it will forever be.

Also, the featured image at the beginning of this post is one of the new inspired logos from The Academy.

Leave a Reply

