“Truth is far too precious a commodity to be used lightly.”

I’ve been on a bit of a JK Rowling kick this year in regards to my literary life and having finally finished Chamber of Secrets and The Cuckoo’s Calling within days of each other, I think it’s time to take a mini JK break.

bookcovers

I think as I’ve gotten older, as many can attest, our sense of vulnerabilities and loss has grown while our reckless sense of identity has waned. With Chamber of Secrets, I’m finding Harry’s lack of instinct for self preservation quite shocking. While I understand his traits as a loyal friend and wanting to risk his life for the sake of good, I keep reminding myself that this boy is only 12 years old! But I think now, at 25, reading this series, I’m reading it more as a distant adult looking in on a 12 year old’s life rather than experiencing it as I did originally, as 12 year old, knowing I’d do just the same as Harry for my friends.

As for The Cuckoo’s Calling, I would have never picked this book up not knowing who the true author was. However, the read was quite exhilarating and I can’t wait for the second installment come June of this year! I never pictured myself as a crime/mystery novel reader, but here I am! Thank you JK Rowling!

Currently on the reading docket is The Irregulars: Roald Dahl and the British Spy Ring in Wartime Washington by Jennet Conant. I’m always a fan of espionage and covert operations and I’ve found just the book to satisfy that curiosity. I had no idea such a beloved children’s book author (Matilda, James and the Giant Peach) had such a storied background!

512GJaUMeaL

Perhaps when I’m done with this nonfiction spy novel, I’ll pick up Prisoners of Azkaban. Until then, let me leave you with a quote from the opening pages of Conant’s book. “Truth is far too precious a commodity to be used lightly.” – Louis Franck.

Leave a Reply

