Hello again!

I know I’ve been out of the blogging loop lately, but the Dorothy Parker quote I left you with isn’t half bad ;D So, what’s happened since I was last on here?

There were the Golden Globes. I absolutely loved Poehler and Fey as hosts and still don’t quite understand Jodi Foster’s speech. Also, Kevin Costner sounded like he was giving a speech for a lifetime achievement award. It’s ok Mr. Costner, accept the award for Hatfields and McCoys and move on.

Movies are a bit slow right now too. I’ve seen pretty much everything on the Oscar nominated list (sans shorts) and while I can’t wait for Identity Theif (Bateman and McCarthy) to come out next month, I’m pretty much stuck with checking out Movie 43 or Hansel and Gretel

On the New Year’s Resolution side of things, I’m currently reading a coworker’s copy of The Call of Cthulhu and Other Weird Stories by H.P. Lovecraft. This is my first soire with this author and while I do like to dabble in the “strange” and “fringe” stories from time to time, it’s getting really annoying that he’s racist. I’m glad I read about it in the forward though, otherwise I would have returned this book long ago. I suggest reading the story “He;” its quite epic and set in New York City in the early 1900s.

However, I’m determined to power through the anthology so I can get to this box of goodies! 

Screen_shot_2013-01-29_at_8

And lastly, I’ve tried cooking something new for the month of January! I pulled the recipe from the blog What Katie Ate and while I may have over done it on the mint, the potatoes turned out to be quite delicious! Definitely adding this recipe to my book.

Less than a month until the Oscars!!! Oh, and on that note, I got 7 out of 9 predictions right for Best Picture. Django Unchained being nominated really threw me for a loop!

Leave a Reply

