oscar moments 2012 ::

Oscarmoments2012

When it comes to celebrating the Oscars, the only thing I can compare it to so people will understand is The Super Bowl. All season long I watch the top contenders, mentally betting on which ones will make the nominee list. Then the playoffs happen and I’m glued weeknights and weekends watching the Golden Globes, SAGs, and BAFTAs unfurl before me. Then, finally, after months of waiting, sometime in late February, it’s game day, the big day…Oscar Sunday!

This year, The Academy, and all of us watching at home, celebrated the 84th Oscars ceremony. After the original host and producers called it quits, Billy Crystal and Brian Grazer came to the rescue.

So today I just wanted to share with you my favorite Oscar moments from last night.

First up, the intro. Pulling from the minds of Emmy producers, traipsing through each nominated film was in fact, hilarious. George Clooney kissing the comatose host, Billy arguing with his Moneyball writing team and then eating Minnie’s pie, and the final montage of encouragement spooling before him from the reels as he walked on stage…brilliant!

Then the awards.

I really really really wanted Bridesmaids to win for Best Original Screenplay, but alas The Artist was deserving. Also, I was completely torn between whom I wanted to win for Best Actress. Ultimately, I leaned toward Meryl, I absolutely adored her in Iron Lady, plus I was glad to see her win her third Oscar after 17 nominations. But oh my, the speeches!

It was no surprise that Octavia Spencer would win Best Supporting Actress (despite the fact I wanted Melissa McCarthy to win too), but her speech was a joyful surprise. When she read the teleprompter and said she had only 10 seconds left and was freaking out on national television, my entire Oscar watch party doubled over in laughter. It was awesome, it was genuine, it was a true Oscar moment. Watch it here.

Then there was Christopher Plummer at 82 years of age accepting his golden statue as the oldest Oscar winner in history! My favorite line from his speech, “You’re only two years older than me darling, where have you been all of my life?” I think now he can do away with the ever-plaguing shadow of The Sound of Music.

And then there was Meryl and her opening remarks on how half of America let out an anguishing sigh when they announced her name and not Viola’s, but hey, forever nominated and seldom a winner, I think Meryl deserved her dance with the golden man of the hour. Next time Viola; next time.

The Cirque du Soleil act was amusing and I didn’t quite understand why Jennifer Lopez and Cameron Diaz were paired to present. Emma Stone was funny opposite Ben Stiller (loved the dress) and I absolutely loved the pre-taped nominees’ “Favorite Movie Moments,” which you can watch here. Also, nice intro by Will Ferrell and Zach Galifianakis for the music categories and loved how the cast of Bridesmaids continued their Scorsese inspired drinking game last night.

But in the end, The Artist, which I wanted and predicted to win it all, shined above the rest. The black and white silent film that romanced audiences everywhere and paid homage to the great place of Hollywood, well, seeing that film last December was a true movie moment for me.

See the full list of winners here :: http://oscar.go.com/nominees

Oh, and I made a cake too! 

Oscarcake

Leave a Reply

