Terry McMillan + Why She Writes

Terry-mcmillan

I follow Heidi W. Durrow on Twitter, author of The Girl Who Fell From the Sky. This morning she tweeted, "RT @penguinusa: New on @BlogHer @MsTerryMcMilan explains why she writes: http://bit.ly/lGAj9n. GETTING TO HAPPY is their June Book Club…"

I concluded that it had something to do with author Terry McMilan and why she writes. My curiosity grew and so I snuck a peak at what she had to say. I landed on a blog that was new to me, BlogHer, Life Well Said, and immediately felt a connection to the last lines of what Ms. McMillan had to say on why she writes:

"I write because I want to explore the condition of my own life and the lives of others so that it makes sense, so it means something, so that I might learn from yesterday and right now how it can be of use in the future. I want to be a stronger person, smarter, more interesting. Better able to handle rejection and pain and guilt and happiness. I want my life to matter. I want others to know that their lives matter. That we have more power than we realize. And that all we really have is right now."

Read the full blog post on BlogHer here.

I will say that I've never read a book by this author but I probably should…
2 thoughts on “Terry McMillan + Why She Writes

  1. Hi! I’m so glad you clicked through! Terry McMillan is great and a very generous writer to other writers! I am doing a special interview with her on Aug. 18 that will be webcast from Book Passage in the Bay Area! Tune in! xo, h

Leave a Reply

