Retro Blog 2. October 12, 2009. “Behold the Power of Yeast!”

Screen_shot_2010-08-23_at_8

Taken from ’88Lens

“So it seems I forgot that I started a blog. Oops. No worries, it will probably happen again.

This past week I took it upon myself to produce Jessie’s Famous Butter Horn rolls. Let it be known that I’ve never baked a bread before, let alone with yeast. Wait, no, I’m an unreliable narrator. I have made my mom’s cinnamon rolls before. Anyhow, this was my first time working with that little itty bitty bacteria called yeast. I shy away at the word. To think, little burping organisms making the bread we eat rise!!! It’s an organism, right?

So I prepare the dough by melting butter into a milk and sugar mixture. I then add the yeast and the flour mixture and let rise. An hour later, as I move to separate the dough into distinct balls to flatten, I feel an overwhelming sense of warm beneath the palms of my hand. The bread was alive! Yes, alive. The yeast was burping its way to my hands and rising the bread. For some reason, this was just as exciting as feeling a baby kick beneath the mother’s belly for the first time.

The picture shows the finished product. I ate almost five of them.”

3 thoughts on “Retro Blog 2. October 12, 2009. “Behold the Power of Yeast!”

  1. haha i remember when you made them!"just as exciting as feeling a baby kick beneath the mother’s belly for the first time" eh? haha

Leave a Reply

